Hello and welcome

As this is my first blog ever I will start by telling you a little about me.

My name is Alison. I live with my husband and 2 of our 4 children on a dairy farm on the Mid North Coast of NSW, Australia.

We currently milk 110 but are aiming for 200 b y the end of the year.

That’s where the blog idea started.

We have been trying to buy cows for some time. As we seem to be on the cusp of more profitable times, good cows are becoming increasingly hard to source.

We were offered a chance to get as many cows as we could handle for free! The only stipulation is we have to rear Wagyu X calves out of the cows.

I admit I had to search for pictures of Wagyus online as I had never seen one. Then I searched for rearing Wagyu calves – nothing! Well nothing useful. Nowhere I could ask questions.

You see I have been told they are difficult calves to feed. Mostly by people who had nothing or little to do with them.  The only person who told us yes they can be fiddly but if you do it right from the start you’ll be fine rears thousands of calves every year. 

After ruminating on this for a while I decided to change this!

So I hope this blog is everything I am looking for and can’t find.

 

Leave a Reply

