Daily Prompt – Adult Vision – The Arrogance of Youth

Being an adultThe daily prompt question is as a kid you must have imagined what it would be like to be an adult. And now you are one, how far off was your vision?

Last week, I turned 40.

I remember my sisters and I talking about how old our parents were when they turned 40. That was a while ago! We thought they were so old! How can someone live that long?

And I also couldn’t understand why they felt the need to hide their age. We as kids are more than happy to tell people how old we are. 16, 18 and 21 are celebrated with parties and special gifts. Then you have to wait till 50 before you get another one!

But you can’t ask a lady their age! Its rude! Apparently!

As my 40th loomed, lots of people asked how I felt about it. Like it was something to be afraid or even ashamed of. And what’s worse, most were genuinely amazed that it didn’t worry me!

The other thoughts I had when I was a kid were around the capability of ‘old’ people. Because 40 was so old!

I really believe I feel more alive at 40 than I did at 25. I have more confidence and a better idea of what I want from myself and other people.

I spent my childhood mistaking arrogance for confidence. I guess that’s the problem with most of us! As kids, we tell adults they don’t know. Hire a teenager while they still know everything was something my ancient 40 year old father said more than once.

But the biggest lie I told myself was that it was soooooooo much easier being an adult.

As a child, decisions are made for you. You wear what you’re given, eat what you’re given, go where you’re sent or taken. You have to go to school no matter how traumatic that experience is. Then you’re told what you can learn while you’re there. All the peer pressure and bullying – you know no adult would ever understand what that’s like! Your friends get to dress in whatever they want and go where ever they want. Or so it seems!

I remember telling myself and others that adults get to decide what they want to do and don’t have to do anything they don’t want to.

I now find myself doing a very similar job with my kids – they need to dress appropriately, behave appropriately  and no, you will not be walking the streets with your friends on Friday arvo when high school finishes 30 minutes early!

Oh boy! I have figured out how wrong I was about the adult world!

I was well off the mark with my vision!

I am a huge believer in karma. The idea the universe will teach you where you went right and wrong and reward you accordingly.

Well universe, you can stop rewarding me for my arrogance now! I get it!

Leave a Reply

