Smoking – Too Long For A Facebook Rant

 

 

Smokers

 

This statement has been doing the rounds on Facebook for a while. After a comment from a friend this morning, I’ve decided a rant is in order.

I posted this response.

I detest this thing. Basically, its having a go at those who choose not to poison not only our bodies but those of everyone else around us. And yes, I agree. Maybe gruesome pictures should be put on fast food as well as chocolate, chips and fizzy drink, and maybe car crash, brawls and domestic violence warnings on alcohol.
Stop perpetuating this bs.
End of rant.

 

This was her response.
This is because your not a smoker!
I think the pictures are funny! I don’t really by my smokes to look at the packaging….
Each to there own
Ok. I am not a smoker. I dabbled for a while but I am asthmatic, so that was never going to work!
I try very hard to stay fit, eat healthy and my days of drinking are basically over.
Saying that McDonald’s should have obese kids on the wrapping is ok.
Even saying alcohol bottles should have car crash pictures on the labels is warranted I guess!
Smoking is the number one cause of death in Australia. The financial cost in Australia in 2004-05 – smokers and non smokers – was $670 million. 14,900 people died from smoking related disease in the same years. That’s $44,966 per person who died.
Lung cancer is the number one cancer in Australia, mostly caused by smoking.
Obesity is a rising problem, with 62.8% of Australian adults now considered overweight. In 2005,  obesity cost Australians a massive $21 billion in direct health care costs. $21 billion. The government of that time paid an extra $36.5 billion in subsidies related to obesity. That’s $57.5 billion.
The rate seems to be falling. 60% of us were obese in 2012. There doesn’t seem to be any financials available for that time though.
There were 1,193 deaths on Australian roads in 2012, and cost us on average $2.8 billion per year. Alcohol is attributed to about 1/3 of all road deaths – driver and pedestrian. A very interesting read about the social costs of alcohol on our society can be found here.
The new Liberal/National government of Australia is looking for cost savings and are being accused of going after the medical system. People are asking why. I think $79.97 billion is a pretty good reason!
Imagine what could be done with even half of that!
So why not put labels on fast food and alcohol? Remember, these are my opinions only.
Obesity is less about fast food and more about portion distortion. So if we are going to put a picture of an obese child on a happy meal box, then we need to put the same thing on steak. And if we are going to do that, why not sell all food in approved serving size portions only. One serve of dairy is the equivalent of one metric cup of milk. Why not sell milk in cup sizes only? A great portion size guide can be found here.
Not all alcohol related deaths are road crashes. It is widely known that alcohol is one of the main causes of trauma in areas where drinking is the thing to do. Take Kings Cross in Sydney for example. My honest opinion is drinking is a cultural aspect of being Aussie and that needs to change before we can stop the deaths and violence.
So why does this statement on smoking annoy me badly enough to find out all this information instead of the hundreds of other things I should be doing.
People who smoke generally don’t have just one occasionally. They smoke daily. And if they smoke, their death is highly likely to be from smoking. They do risk all the cancers and other diseases shown on the boxes.
I can have a glass of wine occasionally and I am partial to Maccas breaky but I don’t have it every day. It’s not that likely that I will die or suffer any long-term health issues as a direct result of either.
That’s why the those lovely pictures need to be on the cigarette packaging.
To me, this statement is an excuse. And I don’t like excuses. Smoke if you want to, but realise what you are doing not only to you but those around you.
Second hand smoke can harm people too. It caused myself and my sisters to have lung and throat issues. We are all asthmatic to varying degrees. We all have issues with tonsillitis and bronchitis every year at least once, with the exception of the sister who had such bad issues with her tonsils, her doctor had them removed.
It causes SIDS in babies, and can harm the unborn child even if the mother isn’t a smoker.
Why should I have to leave any building through a cloud of toxic smoke, with or without my kids? Why should I have to sit in my car with the vents shut because five people decide to stop next to my car and smoke? Why should I feel guilty having to ask them to move on before I got my kids out of that car? Why should I be having a nice meal with friends only to have a waft of smoke interrupt it?
And it stinks.
Face it smokers, you interrupt the day-to-day lives of people who don’t want to die a slow and painful death. It’s not a judgment, it’s a fact. It’s your choice to smoke, don’t take it out on everyone else.
And yes, alcohol ruins not just the life of the drinker but also those around them. But you are not allowed to wander the streets intoxicated any more, so drunk people can in most instances be avoided. And someone can be sitting at a table near me drinking without causing me any harm.
I can spend all day every day with an obese person without suffering any health issues at all.
The age of entitlement is ending. Responsibility for your own actions is now becoming the norm.
How you act, what you say, what you do, how you choose to live your life can have implications on the lives of others.
I feel its time smokers realised this.
Now I can honestly say
*****END OF RANT*****

 

Leave a Reply

